The Quebec Election understood.

Election 2018: What You Need to Know

The next general election, to be held on October 1st, will be the first elections in Quebec’s history to take place at a fixed date. Get a full primer on this fall’s election.

The good move (Week of September 20 to September 26):

The leader of the Coalition Avenir Québec used the last party leader debate to recognize that he had made a mistake in speaking about immigration and that he had not spoken enough of the importance that he intends to accord to integration. This mea culpa contributed to slowing the fall of the CAQ in the polls.

 

0
Number of the week: The leader of the Quebec Liberal Party, Philippe Couillard, declared that a family made up of one parent and three children could do their weekly grocery shopping with $75, which generated many comments from his adversaries and the population, accusing him of being disconnected.

Days 38 & 39: September 29 & 30, 2018

The last poll of this electoral campaign, by Léger, predicted the election of a CAQ government. “If the tendency remains, the CAQ will form the government and it will probably be a minority government, but one must not dispel the idea that the government may also be a majority government,” declared the pollster Jean-Marc Léger.  The election of a Liberal minority government is still possible considering the “ballot box bonus” which traditionally favours the liberals. Over 39 campaign days, the party leaders and co-spokespeople of the four main parties travelled 44,120 km and participated in roughly 660 events. François Legault visited 64 ridings, Jean-François Lisée visited 58 ridings, Philippe Couillard visited 52 ridings, and Manon Massé and Gabriel Nadeau-Dubois visited 43 ridings. On the eve of the election, the party leaders tried to convince the last voters who may still be undecided.  

PLQ-logo-100x100

While in Gaspésie for the last day of the campaign, Philippe Couillard criticized François Legault by affirming that Mr. Legault did not understand anything about immigration and that his party had completely forgotten to include measures for the elderly in their platform. After having abandoned wind power, Mr. Couillard proposed to relaunch this sector. He asked Quebecers to rally around him to defend farmers in the context of the NAFTA renewal. Mr. Couillard promised to study all legal recourses possible to “block” or delay the adoption of the new agreement if it cuts the supply management system. The leader of the QLP ended the day in Roberval, in his riding.

 

equals
pq-logo-100x100

Jean-François Lisée and his deputy leader, Véronique Hivon, invited undecided voters to join them and invited supporters to get out the PQ vote. Mr. Lisée organized a press conference at his mother’s place of residence in Thetford Mines, where he said he was “at peace” with his campaign and believed he had done everything he could. Like the Liberal leader, Mr. Lisée denounced the dent that could be made in the supply management system.

equals
caq-logo-100x100

François Legault promised, if elected, to do more for the elderly. He would ask his finance minister to see that there was “something for retirees” in his government’s budget. He indicated that an agreement on the renewal of NAFTA could take place in the next few hours after his transition team had spoken to the office of Prime Minister Justin Trudeau. He justified his lack of knowledge of the immigration system by the fact that he had never worked in Ottawa. Mr. Legault urged Quebecers to refuse “continuity” by using their right to vote on October 1st.

equals
qs-logo-100x100

Gabriel Nadeau-Dubois invited voters 18-34 years old to go to the ballot box on Monday. He also promised that if a minority government was elected in which Québec solidaire would hold a balance of power, the party would remain faithful to its values. Manon Massé called out to voters : “Try us, you have everything to gain.”

equals
Nadine Caux

A New Government in Quebec

Seven years after the foundation of his party, Coalition Avenir Québec (CAQ), François Legault will lead a majority government since his party succeeded in electing

Lire la suite »

Recevez des mises à jour quotidiennes dans votre boîte de réception.

Votre référence pour bien comprendre
la campagne électorale au Québec.

Élection 2018 : Ce que vous devez savoir

La prochaine élection générale, qui aura lieu le 1er octobre, sera la première dans l’histoire du Québec à se tenir à date fixe. Cliquez ici pour tout savoir sur l’élection à venir.

Le bon coup (Semaine du 20 au 27 septembre): 

Le chef de la Coalition Avenir Québec profite du dernier débat des chefs pour reconnaître qu’il a fait une erreur en parlant d’immigration et qu’il n’a pas assez parlé de l’importance qu’il entend accorder à l’intégration. Ce mea culpa a contribué à freiner la chute de la CAQ dans les sondages.

0
Le chiffre de la semaine : Le chef du Parti libéral du Québec, Philippe Couillard, déclare qu'une famille composée d'un parent et de trois enfants pouvait faire son épicerie hebdomadaire avec 75 $ ce qui a suscité de nombreux commentaires de ses adversaires comme de la population l'accusant d'être déconnecté.

Jours 38 & 39: 29 & 30 septembre 2018

Le dernier sondage de cette campagne électorale, réalisé par Léger, prévoit l’élection d’un gouvernement caquiste. « Si la tendance se maintient, le gouvernement serait caquiste probablement minoritaire, mais il ne faut pas évacuer l’idée que le gouvernement soit aussi majoritaire », déclare le sondeur Jean-Marc Léger. L’élection d’un gouvernement minoritaire libéral est encore possible en considération de la « prime à l’urne » qui favorise traditionnellement les libéraux. En 39 jours de campagne, les chefs et co-porte-parole des quatre principaux partis ont parcouru 44 120 km et participé à environ 660 événements. François Legault a visité 64 circonscriptions, Jean-François Lisée 58, Philippe Couillard 52, Manon Massé et Gabriel Nadeau-Dubois 43. À la veille du scrutin, les chefs essaient de convaincre les derniers électeurs qui pourraient être toujours indécis.

PLQ-logo-100x100

De passage en Gaspésie pour sa dernière journée de campagne, Philippe Couillard écorche François Legault en affirmant que celui-ci ne comprenait rien à l’immigration et que son parti avait complètement omis d’inclure des mesures pour les aînés dans sa plateforme. Après y avoir renoncé, M. Couillard propose de relancer la filière éolienne. Il demande aux Québécois de se rallier à lui pour défendre les agriculteurs dans le cadre du renouvellement de l’ALÉNA. M. Couillard promet d’étudier tous les recours juridiques à sa portée pour « bloquer » ou retarder l’adoption de la nouvelle entente si celle-ci sabre le système de la gestion de l’offre. Le chef du PLQ termine la journée à Roberval, dans son comté.

equals
pq-logo-100x100

Jean-François Lisée et sa co-chef, Véronique Hivon, invitent les indécis à les rejoindre et les militants à sortir le vote péquiste. M. Lisée organise une conférence de presse chez sa mère à Thetford Mines, où il se dit « en paix » avec sa campagne, estimant qu’il a fait tout ce qu’il pouvait. À l’instar du chef libéral, M. Lisée dénonce la brèche qui pourrait être faite dans le système de la gestion de l’offre.

equals
caq-logo-100x100

François Legault promet, s’il est élu, d’en faire plus pour les aînés. Il demanderait à son ministre des Finances de voir à ce qu’il y ait « quelque chose pour les retraités » dans le budget de son gouvernement. Il indique qu’une entente sur le renouvellement de l’ALÉNA pourrait avoir lieu au cours des prochaines heures après que son équipe de transition ait parlé au bureau du premier ministre Justin Trudeau. Il justifie sa méconnaissance du système d’immigration au fait qu’il n’a jamais travaillé à Ottawa. M. Legault exhorte les Québécois à refuser la « continuité » en exerçant leur droit de vote le 1er octobre. 

equals
qs-logo-100x100

Gabriel Nadeau-Dubois invite les 18-34 ans à se rendre au bureau de vote lundi. Il promet également qu’advenant l’élection d’un gouvernement minoritaire dans lequel Québec solidaire détiendrait une balance du pouvoir, le parti resterait fidèle à ses valeurs. Manon Massé interpelle les électeurs : « Essayez-nous, vous avez tout à gagner ». 

equals

Tweet du jour

Caricature du jour

Recevez des mises à jour quotidiennes dans votre boîte de réception.